Shuttles & other services Shuttles & other services

The following bus services are not covered by Auckland Transport. For information about these bus services, please contact the service provider directly.

Health bus (Manukau superclinic)

The Manukau Superclinic operates a free bus service for those patients who are unable to access either their own transport or public transport. The Health Bus will collect patients for their appointments from the stop closest to where the patient lives. After the appointment the Health Bus will deliver the patient back to the closest bus stop. Each patient can bring one caregiver, relative or friend with them on the bus. In the case of a child, both parents may wish to come to the Superclinic with their child.

For more information on the Health Bus visit

The first bus for the morning leaves Otara at 7.30am, then 8.30am, 9.30am, 10.30am, 11.30am. In the afternoon, the first bus leaves Otara at 12.30pm, then 1.30pm, 2.30pm, 3.30pm.

Please note: Patients must bring their letter from the Manukau Superclinic with them to get onto the Health Bus.

St John Health Shuttle

This service is currently only available within the Waitakere area.

The Health Shuttle, operated by St John provides a safe, reliable transport option to and from appointments with doctors, treatment at clinics, visits to specialists, and transport to and from minor day surgery. Drivers are trained in first aid. The vehicle is designed to carry patients seated or in a wheelchair. The service operates Monday to Friday, 8.30am to 5pm. Bookings are essential.

To ensure that a vehicle is available, 24 hours notice of the appointment time is required. Bookings can be made by calling 0800 000 606.

The Health Shuttle travels between: Glen Eden, Glendene, Green Bay, Henderson, Hobsonville, Kelston, New Lynn, Ranui, Titirangi, Te Atatu North & South, Waitakere Hospital and West Harbour.

Those using the Health Shuttle service are asked to make a minimum donation based on the distance travelled. You can pay by cash, pre-paid vouchers or invoice by arrangement only.

Cost (per person, one way)

Zone 1 up to 10km $5.00
Zone 2 10 - 20km $7.40
Zone 3 over 20km $10.00

Areas included in Zone 1:

Blockhouse Bay, Sunnyvale, French Bay, Taupaki, Glen Eden, Te Atatu Peninsula, Glendene, Te Atatu South, Green Bay, Titirangi, Henderson, Titirangi South, Henderson Valley, Waiatarua, Hobsonville, Waimea, Kelston, Waitakere, Konini, West Harbour, Massey East, Westgate, Massey West, Whenuapai, New Lynn, Wood Bay, Oratai, Woodlands Park, Ranui.

Areas excluded in Zone 2:

Huia, Muriwai, Karekare, Piha, Kumeu, Riverhead, Little Huia, Waimauku.

Shuttle bus departure time

Departing New Lynn (from 8am) via Green Bay, Titirangi, Glen Eden, Kelston, Glendene, Ranui, Henderson onto Waitakere Hospital (approximately 9.30am).

Departing Waitakere Hospital (from 10am) via Massey, West Harbour, Hobsonville, Te Atatu South and North back to Waitakere Hospital (approximately 11.30am).

Departing Waitakere Hospital (from 11.30am) via Henderson, Ranui, Glendene, Kelston, Glen Eden, Titirangi, Green Bay , New Lynn (approximately 12.30pm).

Departing Waitakere Hospital (from 1.15pm) via Te Atatu areas, Hobsonville, West Harbour, Massey back to Waitakere Hospital (approximately 2.30pm).

Departing Waitakere Hospital (from 4pm) via Massey, West Harbour , Hobsonville, Te Atatu South and North (approximately 5pm).

Get more information

InterCity Coachlines

For bus services to other cities and towns outside the Auckland region, please phone InterCity Coachlines on 09 623 1503, or visit the InterCity Coachlines website.

Tertiary campus shuttles

Auckland University of Technology (AUT), University of Auckland, Unitec and Massey University operate their own shuttle service around campus or between campuses. These services are operated by the Tertiary institute. See Tertiary campus transport.