Skip to Main Content
Auckland Transport

Travelwise awards and events Travelwise awards and events

Megastars evening 2018

This year’s Megastars Awards Night celebration was held on 4 May 2018 at Eden Park 6.30pm to acknowledge the fantastic work of Auckland’s Walking School Bus (WSB) volunteers and Travelwise lead teachers.

Travelwise celebration

Megastars event picture

Over 285 attendees have registered and enjoyed an evening of comedy entertainment, as well as an award ceremony that recognised outstanding WSB parent volunteers and lead teachers from schools across the Auckland region.

There were 2 different categories – Walking School Bus Parent Volunteers and Travelwise Lead Teachers. 4 different zones – North, Central, West and South. So 8 winners in total.

Walking School Bus parent volunteers

  • North - Bianca Cornforth and Claire Reid - Hauraki Primary School.
  • Central - Natalie Stewart – Meadowbank School.
  • West - Hollie Colegate – Matipo Primary School.
  • South - Tammi Beckett – Buckland Primary School

Travelwise lead teachers

  • North - Debbie Thompson – Whangaparaoa School.
  • Central - Cheryl Peters – St Joseph’s School.
  • West - Joseph Du Plooy - Huapai District School.
  • South - Karen Hishey – Mission Heights School