Skip to Main Content
Auckland Transport

Safer communities programme

Auckland Transport (AT) is committed to improving and increasing the safe travel choices for Aucklanders of all ages. Through our Safer Communities programme, we are using a localised approach to make our roads safer and create more opportunities for active transport.

Ways to create safer communities

Mangere Whanau Mural Workshop

We encourage safe access to a range of transport such as walking, cycling, and public transport, and help vulnerable road users (school-aged children, cyclists, and pedestrians) through the Travelwise programme.

We are improving high-risk roads and intersections, getting travel speeds right, and helping everyone make safer transport choices. In targeted communities, we aim to offer a range of activities and engagements that support engineering improvements.

We hope through developing safer communities, people will feel more connected within their local area and be prepared to access the safe transport options available to them.

Our Road Safety engineers identify patterns of crashes by reviewing crash data and undertake further investigations in areas where the crash risk is high. Working closely with the community, they investigate ways to improve safety and promote alternative transport options. Potential road improvements include:

  • Traffic calming.
  • Crossing facilities.
  • Intersection upgrades.
  • Speed management.

Safe use of any infrastructure is the key to its effectiveness. Any infrastructure changes will be followed up by promotion and education around safe use.

Current schools

We are currently working with these schools/areas:

  • Murrays Bay Primary & Murrays Bay Intermediate.
  • Kelston Cluster (Kelston Boys, Kelston Girls, Kelston Intermediate, Kelston Primary, St Leonards).
  • Marist Primary, Marist College, Mt Albert Grammar School.
  • Bailey Road, Sylvia Park, Stanhope Rd School.
  • Howick College, Cockle Bay School, Somerville Intermediate.
  • Weymouth Primary.
  • Aorere College, Kedgley Intermediate, Kingsford School.
  • Kowhai Intermediate.
  • Marcellin College, Royal Oak Primary School.
  • Glenfield Intermediate and Glenfield Primary.
  • Albany Cluster (Albany Junior High, Albany School, Albany Senior High, Kristin School).
  • Westlake Boys & Westlake Girls.
  • Waitakere College.
  • Waimauku.
  • Manurewa Central School.
  • Hillpark Primary.

Safer Communities projects start with schools and then extend to the wider community.

Safer Communities programme, south Auckland

We are working in the south Auckland area to implement a Safer Communities programme.

The proposed improvements aim to make the road and footpath environment safe as part of our coordinated plan to develop safer road layouts, promote sustainable travel, and ensure ease of passage for those travelling on foot. 

Find out about the current road safety consultations.

Other activities

For more information about Safer Communities programme

Contact Auckland Transport