Auckland Council reporting structure

Recommendation(s)

That the Board:

i. Notes the paper for their information.

Executive summary

In the new electoral term, Auckland Transport's formal reporting to Auckland Council is through the CCO Governance and Monitoring Committee. This committee in turn reports to the Governing Body. Councillors Christine Fletcher and Mike Lee continue to represent Council on the Auckland Transport board.

Strategic context

This report sets out the committee structure and chair/deputy chair appointments for the next term of Council.

Background

Committees of the Whole will meet six weekly, except for those that operate on an irregular timetable due to the process they support (e.g. Unitary Plan).

Recess periods will also be programmed so that, in addition to the Christmas recess, there are three one-week periods each year without meetings and coinciding with school holidays e.g. April, July and October.

A diagram of the new committee structure is attached. Auckland Council's Director Democracy Services Grant Taylor will be present at the meeting for points of clarification.

Governing Body

The governing body will overview the implementation of the Auckland Plan, set the direction for major strategic priorities/projects and ensure that this is reflected in the work programmes of the committees, as well as receiving regular updates on progress.

The main committee of relevance to Auckland Transport reporting is:

CCO Governance and Monitoring Committee

Chair: Cr Penny Hulse Deputy Chair: Cr Calum Penrose

This committee will overview the complete CCO operations through:

- Setting policy relating to CCO governance
- Director appointments
- Approving SOIs
- Monitoring quarterly performance reporting

It is, at this point, unclear as to what Auckland Transport's reports to the Physical Infrastructure committee will be.

This committee reports directly to the Governing Body

There are four committees of the whole of the governing body:

1. Long Term & Annual Plan Committee

Chair: Mayor Len Brown Deputy Chair: Cr Penny Webster

This committee will meet on an "as required basis" under the chairmanship of the Mayor, who leads these processes, and will be responsible for the development of the Long-term and Annual Plans including:

- Local Board agreements
- Local Board Funding Policy
- Financial Policy related to LTP and AP
- Setting of rates.

Under this committee will be a reporting committee for the hearings process.

LTP/AP Hearing Committee

Chair: Clr Penny Webster Deputy Chair: Cr John Watson

2. Urban and Rural Development Committee

Chair: Cr Penny Hulse Deputy Chair: Cr Chris Darby

This committee will guide the physical development and growth of Auckland including the Unitary Plan, Special Housing Areas, and CBD development. There will be two reporting committees of this committee:

a) Unitary Plan Committee

Chair: Cr Alf Filipaina

Deputy Chair: Deputy Mayor Penny Hulse

and, of particular relevance to Auckland Transport:

b) Physical Infrastructure Committee

Chair: Cr Mike Lee Deputy Chair: Cr Chris Darby

This committee will overview the strategic direction and key projects of Auckland Transport, Watercare and the Council's stormwater department to ensure alignment with the growth of Auckland and the Unitary Plan.

3. Regional Strategy and Policy Committee

Chair: Cr George Wood Deputy Chair: Cr Arthur Anae 4. Finance and Organisational Performance Committee

Chair: Cr Penny Webster Deputy Chair: Cr Ross Clow

This committee will be responsible for monitoring overall financial management and the performance of the council parent organisation. It will also make financial decisions required outside of the annual budgeting processes.

Auckland Transport Directors

Councillors Christine Fletcher and Mike Lee have been confirmed to continue to represent the council on the Auckland Transport board.

Attachments

Number	Description
1	Committee structure for Auckland Council

Document ownership

Submitted by	Alan Howard-Smith Manager Stakeholder Management	Man Heavard - Shirth
Recommended by	Wally Thomas GM Communications	Sta
Approved for submission	David Warburton Chief Executive	Shahada.

	dent Maori ory Board	Governing Body	Local Boards	
	REPORTING TO GB			
Urban and Rural Development Committee	Long Term & Annual Plan Committee	Regional Strategy and Policy Committee	Finance & Organisational Performance Committee	CCO Governance & Monitoring Committee
CON	MITTEES REPORTING T	O COMMITTEES OF THE WH	IOLE	Hearings Committee
Unitary Plan Committee	LTP Hearing Panels	Arts, Culture and Events	CEO Review committee	Regulatory and Bylaws Committee
Physical Infrastructure (Transport & 3 waters)		Parks, Recreation & Sport	Tenders and Procurement Committee	Audit and Risk Committe
		Environment, Climate Change & Natural Heritage		Civil Defence & Emergency Management Group Committe
Independent panels requiring Councillor liaison appointment	Advisory panels chaired by a Councillor & providing input to council strategies and plans	Community Development, Safety & Social Infrastructure		
Pacific Peoples Advisory Panel		Economy – Rural & Urban		
Ethnic Peoples Advisory Panel	Rural Advisory Panel	Treaty of Waitangi Working party		
Business Advisory Panel	Heritage Advisory Panel			
Youth Advisory Panel		-		
Disability Strategic Advisory Panel				
Seniors Advisory Panel				
CBD Advisory Board				