Safe speeds around schools Safe speeds around schools

The internationally recognised safe and appropriate speed in areas with people walking and on bikes, like around schools, is 30km/h. In Auckland, there are over 560 schools with current speed limits that do not make walking, cycling, and scooting appealing modes of transport, both for children and their parents.

New safe speed limits

Speed limits around 57 schools were successfully changed to 30km/h between 30 June – 28 July 2022 as part of Phase 2 speed programme. See the full list of Phase 2 school speed limits.

For Phase 3 of the Safe Speeds Programme, Auckland Transport has proposed safe speed limits around a further 82 Auckland schools between 1 December 2022 and 30 March 2023.

The new 30km/h school zone speed will be legally enforceable by NZ Police.

Why are these changes needed?

  • Setting safe speed limits outside and surrounding schools improves children’s safety.  If parents believe their children are safe on the way to school, they will allow them to walk and cycle to school more often.
  • Safe speed limits deliver many benefits to Auckland communities including: healthier environments, thriving town centres, safe streets for walking and biking, improved air quality, and lower carbon emissions.  
  • The internationally accepted speed to greatly reduce the chances of a pedestrian being killed or seriously injured is 30km/h.

The majority of these 82 schools are located in residential areas where the actual speeds that vehicles travel at (operating speeds) are already low. Therefore, the changes we propose will simply bring the posted speed limit in line with the speed vehicles are already travelling at.

Time frame for school speed changes

To find out when the changes will happen for your school, you can match your school’s Local Board Area to the date that the change will take place

Amendment bylaw date Corresponding local board areas
1 December 2022 Aotea/Great Barrier Island, Waiheke Island, Franklin 
26 January 2023 Franklin, Howick, Māngere-Ōtāhuhu, Manurewa, Maungakiekie-Tāmaki, Ōtara-Papatoetoe, Papakura
2 March 2023 Devonport-Takapuna, Henderson-Massey, Hibiscus and Bays, Kaipātiki, Rodney, Upper Harbour, Whau
2 March 2023 Albert-Eden, Maungakiekie-Tāmaki, Ōrākei, Puketāpapa, Waitemata, Whau
20 March 2023 Henderson-Massey, Rodney, Waitākere Ranges

Schools with new speed limit

Central Auckland

Ellerslie School

Hillsborough Primary School 

Mt Eden Normal Primary

Ficino School

Panama Road School

Parnell District School 

Pt Chevalier School

St. Francis School

Pt England School 

Stonefields School 

Waiheke High School

Te Huruhi Primary School

Western Springs College

North Auckland

Belmont School 

Devonport Town Centre and School Zone

Leigh School 

Orewa Beach School 

Takapuna Town Centre and School Zone

Wainui School

South Auckland

ACG Strathallan

Anchorage School 

Baverstock Oaks

Cockle Bay School

Shelly Park School

East Tamaki School 

Ferguson International

Yendarra School

Edgewater College

Fairburn School

St Joseph's School

McAuley High School

Pacific Advance Secondary School

Mt Richmond School

Ferguson Intermediate

Glenbrook School 

Kauri Flats School 

Mangere Central School

Nga Iwi School

Jean Batten School

Manurewa East School

Greenmeadows Intermediate School 

Manurewa South School 

Manukau Christian School 

Leabank School 

James Cook High School

Mayfield School 

Mellons Bay School 

Parkside School 

Roscommon School

Te Matauranga School

Tamaoho School 

Waimahia Intermediate

Waterlea Public School 

Weymouth School

West Auckland

ACG Sunderland

Albany School 

Avondale Primary

Birdwood School 

Blockhouse Bay School 

Freyberg Community School 

Henderson International School

Pomaria Road School

Liston College

Waitakere College

St. Dominic's College

Henderson North School

Kelston International

St Leonards Rd School

Kelston Boys High School

Kelston Primary School

Kelston Deaf Education Centre

Kelston Girls College

Lincoln Heights School 

Oteha Valley School 

Timatanga Community School 

Upper Harbour Primary

For more information, please see FAQs on school speed management