Skip to Main Content
Auckland Transport

Kids learn to ride drop in sessions Kids learn to ride drop in sessions

Attend a drop in session to teach your kids how to ride a bike.


Get involved in the #Learn2Ride sessions. Auckland Transport’s team of qualified instructors work alongside parents to get kids riding.

Whether starting on a balance bike or making the transition to a pedal bike, the team is there to help. Come along, chat to our instructors, try out some different bikes and get your kids riding.

Learn2ride at Greville Reserve

When and where

Each event is weather dependent and you can drop in anytime during the session. Bikes are available on a limited basis.

Greville Reserve, East Coast Road, Forrest Hill

  • Saturday 2 November, 10am to 12pm.
  • Saturday 7 December, 10am to 12pm.
  • Saturday 1 February, 10am to 12pm.
  • Saturday 7 March, 10am to 12pm.
  • Saturday 4 April, 10am to 12pm.
  • Saturday 2 May, 10am to 12pm.

Avondale Central Reserve, 1971 Great North Road, Avondale

  • Saturday 9 November, 10am to 12pm.
  • Sunday 15 December, 10am to 12pm.
  • Saturday 8 February, 10am to 12pm.
  • Saturday 14 March, 10am to 12pm.
  • Saturday 18 April, 10am to 12pm.
  • Saturday 9 May, 10am to 12pm.

No registration is required, but keep an eye on the Auckland Transport events page on Facebook to see any cycling event updates.


Kids learn to ride videos and booklet

Find out more about our Kids learn to ride videos or download our booklet.


You may also be interested in: