Travelwise Choices Awards Travelwise Choices Awards

Page redirects to Travelwise for business (

The annual Travelwise Choices Awards are a celebration of the success of organisations doing good in the transport space.

The Travelwise Choices Awards recognise the commitment of businesses, individuals and community organisations to encourage staff, students, customers and volunteers to make fewer car journeys.

Travelwise Choices Awards announcement

Award winners by category

Community awards

These awards are open for community organisations and groups:

Superior Grassroots Action award icon

Superior Grassroots Action - Winner: EcoMatters Environment Trust - Community Bike Hubs

An organisation that has activated and helped a wide community access, learn about or spread transport choices through a grassroots level.

Highly commended: Boopsie Maran – Places for Good

Event of the Year award icon

Event of the Year - Winner: Devonport Business Association - Devonport PARK(ing) Day

A specific transport initiative within the year that has been particularly successful.

Individual awards

These awards are open for community, business or individual leaders:

Champion of Modes award icon

Champion of Modes - Winner: Teau (Mr Tee) Aiturau

A passionate advocate for any and all better travel modes.

Highly Commended: Ryan the Lion

Sustained Leadership award icon

Sustained Leadership - Winner: Debbie Wilson

An individual who has proven sustained leadership in the transport space by encouraging better travel choices.

Highly commended: Elsa Benjamin

Innovation award

This award is open to any individual or group:

Innovator Thinker award icon

Innovative Thinker - Winner: Big Street Bikers

For new and bold approaches to managing transport and encouraging better ways.

Business awards

These awards are open for businesses and organisations:

Excellence in Travel Choices award icon

Excellence in Travel Choices - Winner: Fisher and Paykel Healthcare

Proven sustained mode shift and excellence in enabling it.

Flexible Future award icon

Flexible Future - Winner: Xero

Continuing to enable and encourage flexible policies post-lockdown and moving forward.

Initiative of the Year award icon

Initiative of the Year - Winner: Mercury - Kissing Oil Goodbye

A specific transport initiative within the year that has been particularly successful.

Highly commended: Papaya Stories - Silent Disco Citywalk

Sustained Leadership in Transport award icon

Sustained Leadership in Transport - Winner: Jasmax

Widespread, outspoken and vocal leadership in transport. Those walking and sharing the talk.

Previous Award Winners

The 2019 Travelwise Choices Awards took place on 13 November 2019. Generating fierce competition, we eventually managed to select winners for our 5 categories to take home the award. The ceremony featured keynote speaker Andrew Barnes, advocate of the four-day working week and several well-known community figures.

Read about our previous Award winners.

Join our programme

If you are looking to improve staff travel at your workplace, email us at or visit our website to learn more about the Travelwise Choices programme or inquire about becoming a member.