Skip to Main Content
Auckland Transport

Parking reviews Parking reviews

Auckland is growing and the limited parking supply is under increasing pressure. We need to ensure that the space we dedicate for parking is being used effectively.


Parking price reviews

Pricing is one of the key ways to affect how people use parking. Adjusting the price in busy areas will result in a higher turnover of parking spaces, which means more people will be able to visit busy areas and it will be easier to find a parking space.

Where demand is high, we will aim for on-street parking to be 85% full. With parking spaces being 85% full, they are well used but people can still easily find a space. This is known as the demand-based approach as part of AT's parking strategy.

Parking occupancy surveys will be carried out to find out whether this 85% target is being achieved. Parking prices will then be adjusted up or down to achieve this 85% target.

Note: While the target is 85%, a range of 70 to 90% is considered acceptable.

Find out more about AT's parking strategy.

Benefits

  • Improve the availability of parking.
  • Reduce the traffic caused by cars looking for a parking space.

Areas with parking price reviews

Albany paid parking zone review

In February 2019, AT established a paid parking zone within the Albany Town Centre:

Area Day and time charges apply Per hour
Albany Town Centre Monday to Friday, 8am to 6pm $1 per hour

Albany Town Centre parking zone map

This change comes after a parking occupancy survey carried out by AT in November 2016. The survey showed:

  • At busy times, the average peak occupancy exceeded 85% on 9 out of 10 roads with free and unrestricted parking spaces.
  • The average peak occupancy rate was 100% on 6 of the 10 roads with free and unrestricted parking spaces.
  • Please note this does not affect parking at the Albany Park and Ride.

Read more about the proposal to introduce the Albany paid parking zone.

Auckland City Centre paid parking zone price review

On 18 March 2019, AT changed the prices of on street parking in the City Centre Paid Parking Zone.

To reflect differing demand, the Outer City Centre (currently Zone 2) will be split into two separate zones, known as Zone 2 and Zone 3:

Area Day and time charges apply 0-2 hours 2+ hours
Zone 1 Monday to Friday, 8am to 6pm $5 per hour $10 per hour
Monday to Friday, 6pm to 10pm $2.50 per hour $5 per hour
Weekends and public holidays, 8am to 10pm $2.50 per hour $5 per hour
Zone 2 Monday to Friday, 8am to 6pm $3.50 per hour $7 per hour
Saturday, 8am to 6pm $1.50 per hour $3 per hour
Zone 3 Monday to Friday, 8am to 6pm $3 per hour $6 per hour
Saturday, 8am to 6pm $1.50 per hour $3 per hour

Auckland City Centre parking zone and pricing map

Download the Auckland City Centre parking zone map (PDF 224KB).

These changes come after a parking occupancy survey carried out by AT in June 2018. The survey showed:

  • At busy times, Zone 1 was 92% full.
  • At busy times, Zone 2 was 87% full.

Eden Terrace paid parking zone price review

In March 2018, AT changed the prices of on street parking in the Eden Terrace Paid Parking zone:

Area Day and time charges apply 0-2 Hours 2+ Hours
Eden Terrace Monday to Friday, 9am to 5pm $1 per hour $2 per hour

Map of Eden Terrace paid parking zone

These changes come after a parking occupancy survey carried out in August 2017 during two weekdays and a weekend. The survey showed:

  • At busy times, the Eden Terrace Paid Parking Zone was 96% full during weekdays.
  • The average length of stay was 4 hours and 10 minutes.

Kingsland paid parking zone & off street carpark price review

In August 2018, AT changed the prices of on street parking in the Kingsland Paid Parking Zone:

Area Day and time charges apply 0-2 Hours 2+ Hours
Kingsland Monday to Friday, 9am to 9pm $2 per hour $4 per hour

Kingsland - Paid parking zone and carpark map

These changes come after a parking occupancy survey carried out in March 2018 during two weekdays and a weekend. The survey showed:

  • At busy times, the Kingsland Paid Parking Zone was 95% full.
  • At busy times, the carpark at 430 New North Road was 96% full.

Newmarket paid parking zone price review

In November 2017, AT changed the prices of on street parking in the Newmarket Paid Parking Zone:

Area Day and time charges apply 0-2 hours 2+ hours
Area 1 Monday to Sunday, 9am to 6pm $2 per hour $4 per hour
Area 2 Monday to Friday, 9am to 5pm $1 per hour $2 per hour

Newmarket paid parking zone map

These changes come after a parking occupancy survey carried out by AT in November 2016. The survey showed:

  • At busy times, the inner streets (Kent, Teed, and Morrow) were all over 85% full.
  • The average length of stay was three hours.

Takapuna paid parking zone and off-street carpark price review

In January 2019, AT changed the prices of on street parking in the Takapuna paid parking zone and off-street carpark at Anzac Street.

To reflect differing demand, the Takapuna parking zone was divided into two. The area marked as Zone 2 saw no price change:

Area Day and time charges apply 0-2 hours 2+ hours
Anzac Street carpark Monday to Saturday, 8am to 6pm $1.50 per hour $3 per hour
Zone 1 Monday to Saturday, 8am to 6pm $1.50 per hour $3 per hour
Zone 2 Monday to Saturday, 8am to 6pm $1 per hour $2 per hour

Takapuna paid parking zone map

These changes come after a parking occupancy survey carried out by AT in May 2018. The survey showed:

  • Parking usage is distributed unevenly within the parking zone.
  • At busy times, 7 out of 16 streets were over 90% full.
  • At busy times, the carpark at Anzac Street was 90% full.

Ponsonby Road paid parking zone review

On 10 August 2020, AT changed the price of on-street and off-street parking in the Ponsonby Paid Parking zone.

Area Day and time charges apply 0-2 hours 2+ hours
Entire zone Monday to Saturday, 8am to 6pm $1 per hour $4 per hour

Ponsonby Road map on street parking fee change.

Adjusting the price of parking encourages turnover and frees up spaces so that people can find a park.

These changes come after a parking occupancy survey, which was carried out by AT in March 2020. The survey showed an average peak parking occupancy of 81% and an average weekday stay of 1 hour and 54 minutes. The area around Three Lamps experienced an average peak occupancy in weekdays of 96%.

After 2 hours, the price is increasing from $2 per hour to $4 per hour, which will encourage short-term parking.

Residential parking zones

Parnell

We worked with local communities and businesses to identify their needs. People in the Parnell area told us that a lot of on-street parking is used by commuters, meaning there is less available for local residents and businesses. Introducing a residential parking zone in Parnell will prioritise on-street parking for residents, local businesses and visitors.

Read more about the results from our public engagement for the Parnell residential parking zone.

We undertook a number of parking occupancy surveys, which indicate that many of the streets to the west of Gladstone Road and St Stephens Avenue have peak occupancy levels of over 85% and streets to the east between 70% and 84%.

Review outcome

We received good support for the residential parking zone with a significant call for a minor boundary change to include St Georges Bay Road. This residential parking zone was implemented in December 2017.

Get full details about the Parnell residential parking zone and how to apply for a permit.


You may also be interested in:

If you are experiencing family violence, don't worry, the information within this pop-up won't appear in your browser's history.

enter
Privacy policy

We’ve made asking for help safer than ever.

Join us in standing up against domestic violence and making more places of refuge across the internet.

If you, your business or your agency want to have The Shielded Site tab on your site we’ve made adding it very easy.

Click here to find out more. (WARNING: this will take you away from our shielded portal.)

NEED MORE ANSWERS

If you are living in fear in your relationship or in your family, there are so many ways we can help you right now. You won’t be turned away even if you don’t have children, a NZ visa, or money. If you still have more questions have a read below and contact us when you’re ready.

I’m ready to talk now.

You can call our 24-hour support and crisis line on 0800 REFUGE (733843). Or, if you prefer, you can click here and contact us discretely through our contact form and we will email you back as soon as possible.

What will I do for money?

There are a number of benefits and allowances you may be eligible for if you are a victim of domestic violence in New Zealand. We can help you better understand your options once you make contact.

I haven’t been beaten up, can Women’s Refuge still help me?

We support women who have experienced any form of domestic violence: verbal, psychological/emotional, sexual, and financial as well as physical. In fact, psychological/emotional abuse is the most common form of domestic violence.

How much does it cost to stay?

Women's Refuge support and advocacy services are free. In the safe house, rent is usually charged once your financial situation is sorted out. Safety is our main concern. You won't be turned away if you don't have any money.

How long can I stay in a safe house?

Some women only stay a night or two, while others stay for weeks. You can talk with the advocates at your local refuge about how long you think you need to stay to ensure your safety.

I don’t live with my partner, but he is abusing me. Can you still help me?

Yes, you don’t have to be living with your partner to experience domestic violence and you can still call us.

What happens if I haven't got any clothes or food?

Women's Refuge has clothing that you can have. We’ve also got toys and books, formula and nappies. You are welcome to use our emergency food until you get your financial situation sorted out.

Will other people be there?

Safe houses usually have other women, including women with their children, staying there. Refuge advocates are around during the day.

How will I get my kids to school?

The advocates at your local refuge will help you work out transport for your children, or help with changing schools.

Can Women's Refuge help me if I stay in my own house?

Yes, we can provide all the same support and advocacy for you no matter where you choose to live. You may be eligible to access support through the Whanau Protect service.

I'm living in a rural area. Can you still help me?

Yes. Find your local refuge and they will be able to arrange support, advocacy and transport for you.

Can Women's Refuge help around issues with children?

Yes. We can provide support and advocacy around matters to do with custody, access and care.

BEING SAFE ONLINE

The safest way to browse the internet if you suspect your browsing history is being monitored, is to use your browser’s private or incognito mode.

If you suspect your device has been compromised by spyware, then you should use consider using another device as some spyware may still be able to monitor icognito sessions.

To activate a private browsing session, follow the instructions below.

Safari

Open Safari > go to the File menu > select New Private Window

When finished, don’t forget to close your browser window to ensure your safety and privacy.

Chrome

Open Chrome > go to the triple-dot menu (top right of your browser's window) > select New Incognito Window

Internet Explorer

Open IE > click the Tools button > select Safety > and then click InPrivate Browsing

Mozilla Firefox

Open Firefox > click the menu button ☰ > and then click New Private Window

You should see a message in the new window saying that you are now browsing privately.

When finished, don’t forget to close your browser window to ensure your safety and privacy.

Getting out

The most important thing is for you and your children to get out safely. It is important to know that leaving a violent relationship can be one of the most dangerous times for women and children so it is important to make a safety plan around leaving and keep your plans confidential. Below are some tips to help you make a plan.

  • If you can, pack a bag with bare necessities and important documents that you can leave with someone you trust. Include important documents such as passport, birth certificate, bank account details, driver’s licence, and bank cards and other things like medicines.

  • Know abuser's schedule and safe times to leave.

  • Contact us for guidance or a safe place to stay for you and your children.

Getting help

We warmly welcome all women and their children to access our support, advocacy and crisis accommodation. If you need help or have questions, use our live chat to get in touch.

making a plan

The safety of you and your children (if you have them) will be your primary concern. If you’re not ready or cannot safely leave, here are some things you can do to stay safe now.

  • Make a safety plan with the guidance of a refuge advocate.

  • Get yourself a pre-paid phone; keep it charged and safe.

  • Keep photocopies of important documents (passport, birth certificate, bank account details, medical notes, driver's licence, etc) and store these at the home of a supportive friend or family member.

  • Keep a journal of all violent incidents, noting dates and events.

  • If you can, open your own bank account and try to save some money.

  • If you have pets you are worried about, consider them in your safety plan.

Privacy Policy – The Shielded Site Application.

General

In this privacy policy, the terms ‘NCIWR’, ‘we’, ‘us’, and ‘our’ refer to National Collective of Independent Women’s Refuges Inc. NCIWR operates this web application at https://d3f5l8ze0o4j2m.cloudfront.net (‘this web application’).

This privacy policy explains how we may collect, store, use, and disclose personal information that we collect and that you provide to us. By using this web application you acknowledge that we may collect, store, use, and disclose your personal information in the manner set out in this privacy policy.

Collection of personal information

We may collect personal information from you when you use this web application, for example when you make a request for contact on this web application.

You may decide not to provide your personal information to us. However, if you do not provide it, we may not be able to provide you with access to certain information or services. For example, we may be unable to make contact with you if you do not provide us with your contact information.

Automated collection of non-personal information

When you visit this web application, we will not add traceable elements (such as cookies, sessions, and usage monitoring software) to your browser or device.

Use and disclosure

We will not use or disclose your personal information except in accordance with this privacy policy or the Privacy Act 1993. We may use your personal information to:

  • assist in providing information and services requested by you;

  • communicate with you

Your personal information will only be made available internally for the above purposes. We will not disclose your personal information to third parties. We will only use or disclose personal information that you have provided to us, or which we have obtained about you:

  • for the above-mentioned purposes;

  • if you have otherwise authorised us to do so;

  • if we have given you notification of the intended use or disclosure and you have not objected to that use or disclosure;

  • if we believe that the use or disclosure is reasonably necessary to assist a law enforcement agency or an agency responsible for national security in the performance of their functions;

  • if we believe that the use or disclosure is reasonably necessary to enforce any legal rights we may have, or is reasonably necessary to protect the rights, property and safety of us, our customers and users, or others;

  • if we are required or permitted by law to disclose the information; or

  • to another entity that carries on the business of operating this web application.

Storage and security

All personal information collected on this web application is collected and held by NCIWR. We will endeavour to protect your personal information that is held by us from unauthorised access, use, disclosure, alteration, or destruction.

Third party service providers

This website may be hosted by one or more third party service providers (‘service providers’) who enable us to provide this web application. You acknowledge and agree that any personal information that may be collected on this web application may also be held and used by our service providers on our behalf. Any information collected will be securely sent and securely stored on a server.

Third party websites

This web application may be hosted by websites operated by third parties. We are not responsible for the content of such websites, or the manner in which those websites collect, store, use, or distribute any personal information you provide. When you visit third party websites from hyperlinks displayed on this web application, we encourage you to review the privacy statements of those websites so that you can understand how the personal information you provide may be collected, stored, used, and distributed.

Right to access and correct

You may request access to, or correction of, any personal information we hold about you by contacting us as follows:

Email:info@refuge.org.nz
Post:Privacy Officer
NCIWR
PO Box 27-078
Marion Square
Wellington 6141

To ensure that the contact information we hold about you is accurate and current, please notify us of any changes to such information as soon as possible.

Contacting NCIWR

Any emergency relating to domestic violence should be directed to 111 for New Zealand Police assistance.

If you request assistance through this website, we will endeavour to respond as soon as we can. If you require advocacy services phone 0800 REFUGE or 0800 733 843 to talk to a refuge in your area within New Zealand. All member refuges of NCIWR are listed on our main website (www.womensrefuge.org.nz). If you do visit the Women’s Refuge Website, please note that it is a traceable site so we recommend you use the online safety tips found on this web application to visit www.womensrefuge.org.nz safely.

Advocacy services are available at member refuges. Your call and information will be treated in confidence and privacy.

Changes to our privacy policy

We reserve the right, at our discretion, to alter this privacy policy at any time. Changes to this privacy policy will take effect immediately once they are published on this web application. Please check this privacy policy regularly for modifications and updates. If you continue to use this web application or if you provide any personal information after we post changes to this privacy policy, this will indicate your acceptance of any such changes.

This privacy policy was last updated on 6 October 2015.

If You’re In
Immediate danger
CALL 111 IMMEDIATELY

If you fear for your safety:

  1. Run outside and head for where there are other people.
  2. Ask someone to call 111
  3. If you have children take them with you if you can
  4. Don't stop to get anything else
Close